with recreation. Class C parks are administered in detail by a Parks Board of local citizens, under the over-all jurisdiction of the Minister of the Department of Recreation and Conservation. British Columbia parks are in many stages of development and dedicated to a variety of recreational uses. There are immense wilderness areas such as Tweedsmuir Park and Wells Gray Park. Outstanding scenic and mountain reserves include Garibaldi, Mount Robson, Manning and Bowron Lakes Parks. The formal gardens of Peace Arch Park are a monument to the goodwill between Canada and the United States. Vancouver Island has a chain of small forested parks that have achieved tremendous popularity with tourists-the best known are Little Qualicum Falls, Miracle Beach and Goldstream. The famous gold town of Barkerville has been restored to become the first Provincial Historic Park. Six marine parks with mooring facilities and campsites have been developed on the islands of the Straits of Georgia for the benefit of water-borne vacationists. The popularity of the province's parks, with their integrated campsites and picnic areas, is attested by the fact that about 4,000,000 persons visited them during 1963: about one quarter of the visitors were campers and the remainder day visitors. Records show that Mount Seymour. Cultus Lake and Alouette Lake Parks were the most popular.

Subsection 3.-Canada's National Capital*

Ottawa, the city selected by Queen Victoria in 1857 to be the seat of government for the Province of Canada in British North America, was designated the National Capital upon Confederation on July 1, 1867. The community had grown out of the military and construction camp that served as headquarters for the building of the Rideau Canal, a project carried out between 1826 and 1832 to establish a safe navigable waterway between Lake Ontario and the Ottawa River. The building of the Canal was the crowning achievement in the life of a distinguished British military engineer, Lieutenant-Colonel John By, R.E., who gave his name to the new settlement inhabited mainly by stone-masons and discharged soldiers. As time passed, Bytown prospered as a timber centre and was incorporated as a town in 1847. Then, on Dec. 18, 1854, the name of Bytown was changed to Ottawa and under that name the community was incorporated as a city on Jan. 1, 1855.

The city, situated in an area of great natural beauty and surrounded by waterways, has remained a self-governing municipality and, although throughout the years the Federal Government co-operated with the municipal authorities in the development of a system of driveways and parks, the city expanded without the benefit of a comprehensive plan. However, in 1950 a Master Plan was presented to the Government of Canada, designed to guide the development of the Capital's urban area over the following half-century and to protect the beauty of the surrounding National Capital Region. This Region originally covered 900 sq. miles but was increased in 1959 to 1,800 sq. miles—half in the Province of Ontario and half in the Province of Quebec. Although the successful implementation of the Plan is dependent upon the co-operation of the cities of Ottawa, Hull and Eastview and of about sixty other autonomous municipalities and the two provincial governments of Ontario and Quebec.

The federal agency responsible for the planning of Canada's Capital is the National Capital Commission, created in 1959 to replace the Federal District Commission which, in turn, was the lineal descendant of the Ottawa Improvement Commission. The National Capital Commission, which reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works, is composed of twenty members appointed by the Governor in Council and representing each of Canada's ten provinces. It is headed by a chairman and a general manager and has a personnel of over 700, although this number fluctuates because of the seasonal character of a large part of the work involved. Six committees give advice and direction to the Commission: the *Executive Committee* consists of the chairman and vice-chairman of the Commission and three other members appointed by the Commission, one of whom

^{*} Prepared in the Information and Historical Division, National Capital Commission, Ottawa.